University of Oxford home page
Oxford Terahertz Photonics Group
Oxford Physics

Quick links:

Contact details
The Johnston Group is a research group within the sub-department of Condensed Matter Physics, which is part of the sub-faculty of Physics at the University of Oxford. Our current research may be divided into three themes (i) Semiconductor nanowires (ii) Terahertz photonic technologies and (iii) Vapour deposited Perovskite materials for photovoltaic applications.

For enquires about the group please contact:
Prof Michael B. Johnston (group leader),
Clarendon Laboratory, Parks Road, Oxford, OX1 3PU, United Kingdom.

Latest Publications

table of content figure
Low Ensemble Disorder in Quantum Well Tube Nanowires
Davies et al. Nanoscale, 0:0 (Nov 2015)
[ pdf ][ DOI:10.1039/C5NR06996C ]

table of content figure
Colour-selective photodiodes
Johnston Nat. Photonics, 9:633-636 (Oct 2015)
[ pdf ][ DOI:10.1038/nphoton.2015.180 ]

table of content figure
Temperature-dependent charge-carrier dynamics in {CH$_3$NH$_3$PbI$_3$} perovskite thin films
Milot et al. Adv. Funct. Mater., 25:6218-6227 (Oct 2015)
[ pdf ][ DOI:10.1002/adfm.201502340 ]
The photoconductivity in CH3NH3PbI3 thin films is investigated from 8 K to 370 K across three structural phases, and analysis of the charge-carrier recombination dynamics reveals a variety of starkly differing recombination mechanisms.

table of content figure
Fast charge-carrier trapping in {TiO$_2$} nanotubes
Wehrenfennig et al. J. Phys. Chem. C, 119:9159-9168 (Apr 2015)
[ pdf ][ DOI:10.1021/acs.jpcc.5b01827 ]

table of content figure
Single Nanowire Photoconductive Terahertz Detectors
Peng et al. Nano Lett., 15:206-210 (Jan 2015)
[ pdf ][ DOI:10.1021/nl5033843 ]
We have developed a phase sensitive detector of coherent THz radiation based on a single nanowire. The device uses one GaAs/AlGaAs core-shell nanowire as is active component.

table of content figure
Modulation Doping of GaAs/AlGaAs Core--Shell Nanowires With Effective Defect Passivation and High Electron Mobility
Boland et al. Nano Lett., 15:1336-1342 (Jan 2015)
[ pdf ][ DOI:10.1021/nl504566t ]
We demonstrate effective modulation doping in GaAs nanowires. n-doping results in very long photoconductivity and PL lifetimes of 3.9ns and 2.4ns, in these nanowires.
Group members April 2012


Funded Studentship avaiable in the group for Oct 2015 start
[May 2015] We currently have a vacancy for a fully funded PhD studentship on "Polymer Photonic Structures for Control of Terahertz Light" with the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Plastic Electronics. [more...]
Postdoctoral Position in Nanowire Spectroscopy
[May 2015] We are currently advertising for a postdoctoral researcher to work on optical spectroscopy of semiconductor nanowires [more...]
Hannah appointed as University Lecturer at Cambridge
[Sept 2013] Dr Hannah Joyce has been appointed as a University Lecturer in the Department of Engineering at the University of Cambridge. Hannah will be leaving us mid-September. [more...]
Callum awarded 2013 EPSRC Doctoral Prize
[May 2013] Callum Docherty has been awarded an EPSRC Doctorial Prize for his work on terahertz spectroscopy of 2D systems. Callum will start postdoctoral work funded by the award early in 2014. [more...]
Noah wins prize for his MPhys Project
[July 2013] Congratulations to Noah Waterfield-Price for winning a Physics Prize for his MPhys project. [more...]