University of Oxford home page
Oxford Terahertz Photonics Group
Oxford Physics
 

Quick links:

Group
Research
Teaching
Contact details
Resources

Group Leader

Michael Johnston

Michael Johnston

Professor of Physics
Fellow of Corpus Christi College

Email: michael.johnston@physics.ox.ac.uk

 

Current Members

Kun Peng Dr Kun Peng

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: kun.peng@physics.ox.ac.uk

Semiconductor Nanowires

James Ball Dr James Ball

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: James.Ball@physics.ox.ac.uk

Vapour depostion of serovskite semiconductors
(joint project with Prof Henry Snaith)

Jay Patel Dr Jay Patel

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: jay.patel@physics.ox.ac.uk

Vapour deposition of metal halide perovskite semiconductors
(joint project with Prof Laura Herz and Prof Henry Snaith)

Adam Wright Dr Adam Wright

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: adam.wright@physics.ox.ac.uk

Perovskite semiconductors
(joint project with Prof Laura Herz)

Juliane Borchert Juliane Borchert

D.Phil. Student
Email: juliane.borchert@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photovoltaics
(joint project with Prof Henry Snaith)

Sabrina Sterzl Sabrina Sterzl

D.Phil. Student
Email: sabrina.sterzl@physics.ox.ac.uk

Semiconductor nanowires

Djamshid Damry Djamshid Damry

D.Phil. Student
Email: djamshid.damry@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy

Chelsea Xia Chelsea Xia

D.Phil. Student
Email: qiushi.xia@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy

Kilian Lohmann Kilian Lohmann

D.Phil. Student
Email: kilian.lohmann@physics.ox.ac.uk

Perovskite vapour deposition

Elisabeth Duijnstee Elisabeth Duijnstee

D.Phil. Student
Email: elisabeth.duijnstee@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photovoltaics
(joint project with Prof Henry Snaith)

Robert Oliver Robert Oliver

D.Phil. Student
Email: robert.oliver@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photovoltaics
(joint project with Prof Henry Snaith)

 

Visiting Academics

Marco Zerbini Dr Marco Zerbini

Collaboration between ENEA Frascati and THz Photonics group on applications of THz time-domain spectroscopy for Plasma Diagnostics.
ENEA CRE Frascati, Magnetic Confinement Physics Via E. Fermi, 45 - 00044 Frascati Italy
Email: Marco.Zerbini@physics.ox.ac.uk

Since September 2010

 

Past Members

Rebecca Milot Dr Rebecca Milot

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2014-2018)
Email: Rebecca.Milot@warwick.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy of photovoltaic materials.


Rebecca left the group to become Assistant Professor at the University of Warwick. (see her website)

Christopher Davies Christopher Davies

D.Phil. Student (2014-2018)
Email: christopher.davies@physics.ox.ac.uk

Nanowires and hybrid materials spectroscopy and devices

Laura Martinez Maestro Dr Laura Martinez Maestro

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2015-2018)

Semiconductor Nanowires


Laura is now a Postdoc at the Univesity of Manchester. (see her website)

Jessica Boland Jessica Boland

D.Phil. Student (2013-2017)
Email: jessica.boland@manchester.ac.uk

Nanowire devices and spectroscopy
Jessica is now a University Lecturer at the University of Manchester. She was awarded the 2017 Jocelyn Bell Burnell Medal and Prize as well as an Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship based on her D.Phil. work. (see her website)

Mingzhen Liu Dr Mingzhen Liu

D.Phil. Student (2012-2015)
Email: mingzhen.liu@physics.ox.ac.uk

Solar cells

Callum Docherty Callum Docherty

D.Phil. Student (2010-2014)
Email: c.docherty1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy of graphene and low dimensional systems

Hannah Joyce Hannah Joyce

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2010-2013)
Email: h.joyce1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Semiconductor nanowire growth and spectroscopy.
Hannah is now a University Lecturer at the University of Cambridge. (see her website)

Sam Stranks Sam Stranks

D.Phil. Student (2008-12)
Email: s.stranks1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz conductivity studies of carbon nanotubes and solar cells.
(joint project with Prof Robin Nicholas)

Suzannah Merchant Suzannah Merchant

D.Phil. Student (2005-10)
Email: s.merchant1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz time-domain spectroscopy of semiconductors and computational analysis of time domain spectroscopic data.
(joint project with Dr Laura Herz)

Patrick Parkinson Patrick Parkinson

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2008-9)
Email: p.parkinson1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Optical pump terahertz probe spectroscopy. Terahertz conductivity studies of semiconductor nanowires.
Patrick is now a University Lecturer at the University of Manchester. (see his website)

James Lloyd-Hughes James Lloyd-Hughes

D.Phil Student (2003-6), Postdoctoral Research Associate (2006-7). Marie Curie Fellow, Institute for Quantum Electronics, ETH Zurich (2007-9). EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellow, Oxford (2009-13). Currently Associate Professor, University of Warwick (see his website)

Dr Enrique Castro-Camus Enrique Castro-Camus

D.Phil Student (2003-6), Postdoctoral Research Associate (2007). Present address: Centro de Investigaciones en Optica (Mexico)
Email: E.Castro-Camus@physics.ox.ac.uk

Development of terahertz technologies, including polarisation sensitive receivers. THz spectroscopy of biological systems.
Dr Castro-Camus now has a faculty position at Centro de Investigaciones en Optica (see his website)

Dr Yingjuan Wang Yingjuan Wang

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email: Y.Wang@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy in extreme environments.

  • Paul Marsell
    MPhys Student 2018
  • Dina Morhij
    MPhys Student 2017
  • Olga Zadvorna
    MPhys Student 2016
  • Oliver Bainbridge
    MPhys Student 2016
  • Christopher Davies
    MPhys Student 2014
  • Vilgaile Dagyte
    MPhys Student 2014
  • Noah Waterfield Price
    MPhys Student 2013
  • Claire Donnelly
    MPhys Student 2013
  • Callum Docherty
    MPhys Student 2011
  • Harry Beeson
    MPhys Student 2010
  • Katherine Dunn
    MPhys Student 2009
    (Winner of the 2009 Gibbs Prize for her MPhys Project)
  • Dermot Green
    MPhys Student 2008
  • Stephen Taylor
    MPhys Student 2008
  • Nikhil Vadgama
    MPhys Student 2007
    (Winner of the 2007 Gibbs Prize for his MPhys Project)
  • Andrew Britton
    MPhys Student 2007
  • Christopher Jones
    MPhys Student 2005
  • Sian Jones
    MPhys Student 2005
  • Pamela McGill
    MPhys Student 2004
  • Sebastian Steinfeld
    MPhys Student 2004

Past Visiting Academics

Sonia Conesa-Boj Dr Sonia Conesa-Boj

Email: Sonia.Conesa-Boj@physics.ox.ac.ukk

Dr Jie-Yun Yan Dr Jie-Yun Yan

Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, Beijing 100876, China
Email: Jie-Yun.Yan@physics.ox.ac.uk

September 2014 -- September 2015.

Jin Zou Prof. Jin Zou

Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis, The University of Queensland, St Lucia, QLD 4072 Australia.
Email: j.zou@uq.edu.au

October 2010 -- January 2011.

Zhaohui Zhang Prof. Zhaohui Zhang

Department of Measurement Instrumentation, Information Engineering School, University of Science and Technology Beijing, China.
Email: z.zhang1@physics.ox.ac.uk

October 2009 -- September 2010.

Boajun Li Prof. Baojun Li

State Key Laboratory for Optolectronic Materials and Technologies, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
Email: b.li1@physics.ox.ac.uk

June 2009 -- December 2009.

Group Photos

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members
Group Members March 2017.

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members

Group Members April 2012. From left to right: Michael Johnston, Callum Docherty, Hannah Joyce, Sam Stranks.

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members

Group Members February 2007.

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members

Group Members August 2005.