University of Oxford home page
Oxford Terahertz Photonics Group
Oxford Physics
 

Quick links:

Group
Research
Teaching
Contact details
Resources

Group Leader

Michael Johnston

Michael Johnston

Professor of Physics
Fellow of Corpus Christi College

Email: michael.johnston@physics.ox.ac.uk

 

Current Members

Rebecca Milot Dr Rebecca Milot

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: rebecca.milot@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy of photovoltaic materials.

Dr Milot is also a member of Prof Herz's Group)

Laura Martinez Maestro Dr Laura Martinez Maestro

Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Email: laura.martinezmaestro@physics.ox.ac.uk

Semiconductor Nanowires

Dr Martinez Maestro is also a member of Prof Herz's Group)

Jessica Boland Jessica Boland

D.Phil. Student
Email: jessica.boland@physics.ox.ac.uk

Nanowire devices and spectroscopy

Christopher Davies Christopher Davies

D.Phil. Student
Email: christopher.davies@physics.ox.ac.uk

Nanowires and hybrid materials spectroscopy and devices

Adam Wright Adam Wright

D.Phil. Student
Email: adam.wright@physics.ox.ac.uk

Plastic electronics
(joint project with Prof Laura Herz)

Juliane Borchert Juliane Borchert

D.Phil. Student
Email: juliane.borchert@physics.ox.ac.uk

Photovoltaics
(joint project with Prof Henry Snaith)

Sabrina Sterzl Sabrina Sterzl

D.Phil. Student
Email: sabrina.sterzl@physics.ox.ac.uk

Djamshid Damry Djamshid Damry

D.Phil. Student
Email: djamshid.damry@physics.ox.ac.uk

Chelsea Xia Chelsea Xia

D.Phil. Student
Email: chelsea.xia@physics.ox.ac.uk



Dina Morhij

M.Phys Student
 

Visiting Academics

Sonia Conesa-Boj Dr Sonia Conesa-Boj

Email: Sonia.Conesa-Boj@physics.ox.ac.ukk

Marco Zerbini Dr Marco Zerbini

Collaboration between ENEA Frascati and THz Photonics group on applications of THz time-domain spectroscopy for Plasma Diagnostics.
ENEA CRE Frascati, Magnetic Confinement Physics Via E. Fermi, 45 - 00044 Frascati Italy
Email: Marco.Zerbini@physics.ox.ac.uk

Since September 2010

 

Past Members

Mingzhen Liu Dr Mingzhen Liu

D.Phil. Student (2012-2015)
Email: mingzhen.liu@physics.ox.ac.uk

Solar cells

Callum Docherty Callum Docherty

D.Phil. Student (2010-2014)
Email: c.docherty1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy of graphene and low dimensional systems

Hannah Joyce Hannah Joyce

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2010-2013)
Email: h.joyce1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Semiconductor nanowire growth and spectroscopy.
Hannah is now a University Lecturer at the University of Cambridge. (see her website)

Sam Stranks Sam Stranks

D.Phil. Student (2008-12)
Email: s.stranks1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz conductivity studies of carbon nanotubes and solar cells.
(joint project with Prof Robin Nicholas)

Suzannah Merchant Suzannah Merchant

D.Phil. Student (2005-10)
Email: s.merchant1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz time-domain spectroscopy of semiconductors and computational analysis of time domain spectroscopic data.
(joint project with Dr Laura Herz)

Patrick Parkinson Patrick Parkinson

Postdoctoral Research Fellow (2008-9)
Email: p.parkinson1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Optical pump terahertz probe spectroscopy. Terahertz conductivity studies of semiconductor nanowires.
Patrick is now a University Lecturer at the University of Manchester. (see his website)

James Lloyd-Hughes James Lloyd-Hughes

D.Phil Student (2003-6), Postdoctoral Research Associate (2006-7). Marie Curie Fellow, Institute for Quantum Electronics, ETH Zurich (2007-9). EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellow, Oxford (2009-13). Currently Assistant Professor, University of Warwick (see his website)

Dr Enrique Castro-Camus Enrique Castro-Camus

D.Phil Student (2003-6), Postdoctoral Research Associate (2007). Present address: Centro de Investigaciones en Optica (Mexico)
Email: E.Castro-Camus@physics.ox.ac.uk

Development of terahertz technologies, including polarisation sensitive receivers. THz spectroscopy of biological systems.
Dr Castro-Camus now has a faculty position at Centro de Investigaciones en Optica (see his website)

Dr Yingjuan Wang Yingjuan Wang

Postdoctoral Research Associate
Email: Y.Wang@physics.ox.ac.uk

Terahertz spectroscopy in extreme environments.

  • Olga Zadvorna
    MPhys Student 2016
  • Oliver Bainbridge
    MPhys Student 2016
  • Christopher Davies
    MPhys Student 2014
  • Vilgaile Dagyte
    MPhys Student 2014
  • Noah Waterfield Price
    MPhys Student 2013
  • Claire Donnelly
    MPhys Student 2013
  • Callum Docherty
    MPhys Student 2011
  • Harry Beeson
    MPhys Student 2010
  • Katherine Dunn
    MPhys Student 2009
    (Winner of the 2009 Gibbs Prize for her MPhys Project)
  • Dermot Green
    MPhys Student 2008
  • Stephen Taylor
    MPhys Student 2008
  • Nikhil Vadgama
    MPhys Student 2007
    (Winner of the 2007 Gibbs Prize for his MPhys Project)
  • Andrew Britton
    MPhys Student 2007
  • Christopher Jones
    MPhys Student 2005
  • Sian Jones
    MPhys Student 2005
  • Pamela McGill
    MPhys Student 2004
  • Sebastian Steinfeld
    MPhys Student 2004

Past Visiting Academics

Dr Jie-Yun Yan Dr Jie-Yun Yan

Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, Beijing 100876, China
Email: Jie-Yun.Yan@physics.ox.ac.uk

September 2014 -- September 2015.

Jin Zou Prof. Jin Zou

Centre for Microscopy and Microanalysis, The University of Queensland, St Lucia, QLD 4072 Australia.
Email: j.zou@uq.edu.au

October 2010 -- January 2011.

Zhaohui Zhang Prof. Zhaohui Zhang

Department of Measurement Instrumentation, Information Engineering School, University of Science and Technology Beijing, China.
Email: z.zhang1@physics.ox.ac.uk

October 2009 -- September 2010.

Boajun Li Prof. Baojun Li

State Key Laboratory for Optolectronic Materials and Technologies, Sun Yat-Sen University, China
Email: b.li1@physics.ox.ac.uk

June 2009 -- December 2009.

Group Photos

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members
Group Members March 2017.

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members

Group Members April 2012. From left to right: Michael Johnston, Callum Docherty, Hannah Joyce, Sam Stranks.

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members

Group Members February 2007.

Oxford Terahertz Photonics group members

Group Members August 2005.